As our firm has grown, so has our level of specialization and expertise, driven by the addition of more Shareholders and key technical staff. Our current team of Shareholders consists of Rick Chrisman, Tom Prince, Adriane Schrauben, Doug Schmitt, Brett Karhoff,  Aaron Sal, Brian Wisneski, and Jon Sytsma.

1941 Firm begins as McEwan & Kauffman by partners C. Samuel McEwan and Gordon L. Kauffman at 940 Michigan Trust Building – 40 Pearl Street, NW, Grand Rapids, Michigan.
1952 Ken Hungerford Sr. joins the firm.
1959 Sam McEwan dies suddenly on June 7, 1959.
Firm renamed Kauffman, Hungerford & Co.
1965 Kauffman, Hungerford & Co. grows into large firm and splits.
Gordon Kauffman leaves firm to form Grand Rapids office of Touche Ross.
Firm renamed K.G. Hungerford & Co.
1968 Carter & Dieterman leave to form Pruis, Carter, Hamilton, Dieterman. This firm later merges with Plante & Moran.
Bill Slack promoted to managing Shareholder.
1972 Ken Hungerford Jr. promoted to Shareholder.
1973 Ken Hungerford Sr. dies in automobile collision.
1974 Rick Hungerford promoted to Shareholder.
1978 Cliff Aldrin promoted to Shareholder.
Firm renamed Hungerford and Co., PC.
1979 Jerry Nichols promoted to Shareholder.
1980 Offices move to Riverview Center, 678 Front Ave. NW., Grand Rapids, Michigan.
Bill Slack dies suddenly of a heart attack Labor Day weekend.
1984 Dan Carter promoted to Shareholder.
1986 Ken Hungerford Jr. leaves the firm to become president of ADAC Automotive.
Firm renamed Hungerford, Aldrin, Nichols & Carter, PC (HANC).
1993 Offices move to Cascade, 2910 Lucerne Drive SE., Grand Rapids, Michigan.
John Clark promoted to Shareholder.
1995 Peggy Murphy joins the firm. She is the first female Shareholder.
Begin Annual Update for Accountants seminar to educate clients and colleagues. In lieu of a registration fee, firm encourages attendees to donate to the annual non-profit organization selected for the year.
1996 Rick Chrisman promoted to Shareholder.
1998 Phil Saurman joins with the Firm as Shareholder and brings with him 30 years of auditing and consulting of governmental units.
Firm admitted to membership in AGN International.
1999 Firm acquires SourcIT which provides technology solutions to local businesses.
Firm named “Small Business of the Year” by the Greater Grand Rapids Chamber of Commerce.
2000 Rick Hungerford leaves the firm and becomes president of ESCO, a family-held manufacturing company.
2001 Mitch Burger, Carla Grant and Tom Prince promoted as Shareholders.
2005 Firm acquires Greenville, Michigan CPA firm.
2007 Named West Michigan’s Best & Brightest Company to Work for by Michigan Business & Professional Association. The Firm continues to receive this award annually.
2010 Accounting Today Magazine named the Firm “One of the Best Accounting Firm’s to Work For”.
2011 Firm adds Thomas Price to develop and manage newly formed affiliate Hungerford Financial.
Firm Celebrates 70th anniversary.
2012 Conducted a sustainability study to understand the Firm’s impact on the environment.
Firm starts green initiative.
Rick Chrisman promoted to Managing Shareholder.
2013 Firm adds Brandon Finnie and Kerry Bean to develop newly formed affiliate Hungerford Valuation.
Firm renamed to Hungerford Nichols CPAs + Advisors.
2014 Adriane Schrauben and Doug Schmitt promoted to Shareholders.
Firm announces merger with Dean Jensen CPA, PC and Christine W. Kohn, PLLC CPA/Tax firms in Greenville, Michigan.
2016 Brett Karhoff and Aaron Sal promoted to Shareholders.
Firm receives Pillar Award for career advancement initiatives for women and for efforts in creating a supportive work culture.
Firm celebrates 75th Anniversary!
2017 Gerbel & Company, located in St. Joseph, Michigan merged with Hungerford Nichols
Firm purchases and remodels building at 2910 Lucerne in Grand Rapids.
Brian Wisneski promoted to Shareholder.
2019 Jon Sytsma promoted to Shareholder.
Peggy Murphy receives ATHENA Leadership Award.